Waves

Waves crashing over me,
Waves of sadness,
Waves of frustration,
Waves of hopelessness.

In between, the relief of feeling
Normal.

As the ocean sucks back its spent waves
I’m ready for the next one.
Braced for it to smash into me.
I think I know what’s coming,
But it surprises me with its strength
And I’m staggering back,
Struggling to stand against the onslaught.

I catch my breath, trying to find
Balance.

Waves crashing over me,
Waves of loneliness,
Waves of self-loathing,
Waves of pain.

I want to get off this beach 😦

Talk to me ...

