not a love poem

I wanted to write you
a beautiful love poem

but there was work
there was life
there were ideas that failed
there were hormones that raged
there were eyes falling shut
and frustration it grew
as I tried and I tried
with the time that I had
but the words wouldn’t play

so I stopped
and remembered
how you looked at me
when I flapped and I stressed
you said everything’s fine
(or words of that ilk)
and you kissed me and held me
and wiped up my tears
and told me I’m silly
but you love me anyway

and I think of your face
and my heart swells within
how unwordably precious you are to me
how unpoemably patient and loving you are
and I know that you know that I love you right back
regardless of poetry, rhyme or of meter

so this isn’t a love poem
just collections of words
telling you nothing you don’t know already
but just to reiterate, to make it quite clear
I love you
more
(much more)
than
too

31 thoughts on “not a love poem

Talk to me ...

